Self Catering in Switzerland – June 2018

We recently went on holiday to Switzerland, I am lucky enough to have family there so I was not too nervous about how I would get on with food.  As long as I have access to a kitchen I am happy.  Switzerland supermarkets have such an amazing choice of free from foods!  I wish our supermarkets were as good.  The main supermarkets are Migros and Coop.  Coop stock a number of Schär products which I tend to find are not always lactose friendly.  Whilst Migros caters for a number of allergens, stocking products from aha!.  There were Migros and Coop stores virtually on every other street in Geneva and Zurich so I never went hungry.  It was very refreshing to see products free from egg AND dairy.  I  tend to not find many products in the free from sections in England which do not contain egg.

Aha! have the nicest lactose free chocolate I have ever had.  A lot of dairy free chocolates are very rich, but aha!’s tastes milky.

Allergens in Switzerland are not printed in bold, so be sure to read the ingredients carefully.  In the north of Switzerland the ingredients tend to be in German, and in the south, French.

 

 

Leave a comment